Joint Statement from Urbana and Champaign Mayors

As Mayors of the Cities of Urbana and Champaign, we wish to strongly condemn the hateful violence, bigotry, and racism associated with groups promoting the ideology of white supremacy, neo-Nazism, anti-Semitism and the KKK. Our community is greatly enriched through diversity brought by people from across the nation and around the world.

We join with the leadership of the University of Illinois to “jointly reaffirm those bedrock values that promote a culture of understanding and respect for all—no matter what color, race, ancestry, age, interests, sexual orientation, LGBTQ status, religion, disability status, national origin, immigration status, or gender.” (Office of the President, University of Illinois System)

You are welcome here.


Mayor Marlin Signature

Diane Wolfe Marlin
Mayor, City of Urbana


Mayor Feinen Signature

Deborah Frank Feinen
Mayor, City of Champaign

Contact Reference: 
Click on location marker to view address.
Map Locations: 
Last modified:Friday, December 22, 2017 - 15:45
- Author: Visitor