HOT TOPICS

City Council

The City Council establishes laws for citizen welfare, determines policies that govern providing municipal services and approves certain Mayoral appointments.

  • The City Council is composed of seven members, each elected from a different ward. See Ward Map
  • The Committee of the Whole meets twice a month on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of the month.
  • The Council meets on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of the month.
  • The City Council welcomes public input at all meetings.

Use this link to email all Council members: CityCouncil@UrbanaIllinois.us

Meetings Calendar

City Council Goals

Archive of Council Meetings

City Council Ordinances and Resolutions

Council Rules, Orientation, and Procedures

*Note: Older meeting videos require Adobe Flash Player

 

 

City Council Members

Contact Term Ends
Maryalice Wu Maryalice Wu [D]
Ward 1
mwu@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 377-6296
May 2025
Christopher Evans [D]
Ward 2
caevans@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 819-7806
May 2025
Shirese Hursey Shirese Hursey [D]
Ward 3
sehursey@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 721-4176
May 2025
Jaya Kolisetty [D]
Ward 4
jlkolisetty@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 607-5966
May 2025
Chaundra Bishop [D]
Ward 5
cmbishop@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 721-7816
May 2025
Grace Wilken [D]
Ward 6
gwilken@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 328-0091
May 2025
James Quisenberry [D]
Ward 7
jpquisenberry@urbanaillinois.us
(217) 282-0255
May 2025